National Savings Bank Celebrates Its 45th Anniversary

The National Savings Bank(NSB) marks its 45th anniversary today.

National Savings Bank, is a state-owned Savings Bank in Sri Lanka.

It was incorporated in Ceylon by the National Savings Bank Act No. 30 of 1971 and was granted the status of the Licensed Specialised Bank in terms of the Banking Act No. 30 of 1988. NSB has 227 branches.

The NSB was established on the 16th March 1972 by the then finance minister late Dr. M.N. Perera.

The bank has now assets over 900 billion rupees and deposits over 650 billion rupees.

It also carries out postal banking with the cooperation of 643 post offices and 3,4012 sub-post offices of the Sri Lanka Post.

To mark the 45th anniversary and all night pirith chanting ceremony will be held tonight at the Kollupitiya NSB Head office. The employees of the bank will donate an ambulance to the Colombo National Hospital this morning.



© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd