Opposition MP Tiran Alles Absent During No Confidence Vote

Tiran Alles, a Parliamentarian of the Democratic National Alliance (DNA) representing the opposition, did not vote on the no-confidence motion presented by the UNP against the government. 

Other parliamentarians representing the DNA, namely Anura Kumara Dissanayake, Vijitha Herath, Sunil Handunnetti, Jayantha Ketagoda, Ajith Kumara and Arjuna Ranatunga voted in favour of the motion. 

Alles was not in the house when the vote on the no-confidence motion was taken. 

As political parties, the United National PArty, the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna and the Tamil National Alliance voted in favour of the motion while the Jathika Hela Urumaya and the National Freedom Front skipped the vote. However, in his speech in Parliament, JVP Leader Anura Kumara Dissanayake contended that the timing of the vote could play into the hands of the government.

© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd