Kapugedara To Be Rested After Making Wrong Announcement Upon Winning The Toss: Stand-In Captain Severely Censured By Team Management

Chamara Kapugedara, who led the Sri Lankan team in the 3rd ODI against India, is likely to be ruled out of the 4th ODI, Sri Lanka Cricket sources said. 

The official reason for Kapugedara's removal is an "injury". However, it was revealed that Kapugedara had opted to bat first against India after winning the toss, by mistake. 
The collective decision of the team had been to bowl first, if Sri Lanka won the toss. When Kapugedara, after winning the toss, announced that Sri Lanka would bat first on a bowler-friendly pitch, it had raised many an eyebrow in the Sri Lankan dressing room. 
When asked about the confusion, Kapugedara had later told the team management that he made a wrong announcement by mistake. 
After the incident, Sri Lanka's stand-in captain, who has played for over 100 ODIs, had been severely censured by the team management, including Chairman of Selectors Sanath Jayasuriya. 
Adding insult to the injury, Kapugedera failed to make a significant contribution to the team as a specialist batsman, throughout the series. 
It has now been revealed that the team has decided to rest Kapugedara for the 4th ODI, and appoint another stand-in captain. 
Sri Lanka has already lost the series 3-0 with two matches remaining. 
© 2017 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd