Three More Nomination Lists By Rajapaksa Party Rejected: Eleven Lists Rejected So Far By Polls Officials

Three more nomination lists presented by the Sri Lanka Podujana Permuna were rejected on the last day of nominations. 

The latest additions to the rejected list are the SLPP's nomination papers for the  Jaffna MC, Valikamam - North, Valikamam - East and Delft Local Government bodies.

The elections officials had informed the SLPP that the nomination papers had been rejected due to technical faults.

Earlier in the day, the party's nomination papers for Thirappane LG body, the Anuradhapura district also got rejected. 

This is the first time eleven nomination papers presented by one party have been rejected at an island-wide election.

Sagara Kariyawasa, a lawyer by profession, is the General Secretary of the SLPP.

© 2017 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd