Pendulum Swings Both Ways: UPFA Starts Collecting Signatures For New Government: 15 JO MPs Refuse To Sign

In an interesting turn of events, the UPFA have started circulating a list, collecting signatures of MPs to form a UPFA government. 

They had also confirmed that a section of UNP MPs were also joining a UPFA government, under President Maithripala Sirisena's leadership. 

It is learnt that State Minister Sujeewa Senasinghe, a man who was at the forefront of the Bond fiasco, has held discussions with President Sirisena this morning for a crossover. 

At the same time, nearly 15 Joint Opposition MPs have refused to sign the list due to their concerns over the Prime Minister of the new 'UPFA government'. 

UPFA National Organizer Susil Premajayantha had met former President Mahinda Rajapaksa this morning, with the aim of ensuring the signature of every MP of the Joint Opposition. 

Premajayantha had told Rajapaksa that President Sirisena was ready to remove the Prime Minister and form a new UPFA government. 

© 2017 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd