UNP's New Leadership Structure Holds First Meeting Today: Decides To Formulate Fresh Plan In 07 Days

The United National Party today convened a meeting of the members of its new 'leadership structure' to discuss the party's future course of action.

Ministers Sajith Premadasa , Navin Dissanayake, Akila Viraj Kariyawasam, Sagala Ratnayaka, Harin Fernando, Eran Wickrenaratne, Ajith P Perera, Sujeewa Senasinghe, Eran Wickremaratne and Harsha de Silva are the members of the new leadership structure. The first meeting, held at Temple Trees, was chaired by Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe.

" We were invited to discuss reasons for the local government set back and to come up with our plan within a week to address the issues going forward," Deputy Minister Harsha de Silva said. 

"Once we do so, the Prime Minister will discuss with the President the plan and incorporate the views of his group and immediately implement the consolidated plan. I am hopeful that as a group, and after obtaining views from experts and our own people across the country, we can come up with a winning solution to deliver on our January 8 mandate," he added.

The new leadership structure of the UNP comes as part of the party reforms announced by Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe at the press conference he held at Temple Trees, last Friday. 

© 2017 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd