Party Leaders Agree To Debate National Government Motion Tomorrow: TNA Likely To Abstain From Voting

February 06, 2019

Party leaders agreed to debate the motion on forming a national government tomorrow in Parliament. 

The motion was handed over to Speaker Karu Jayasuriya by Leader of the House Lakshman Kiriella. It seeks to increase the number of Cabinet ministers to 48 and the number of state and deputy ministers to 45. 

The UPFA and the JVP have resolved to vote against the motion. The TNA has not made its position clear on the matter. However, it is learnt that the TNA which has 14 seats in Parliament will obtain from voting. 

The SLMC, which has only one seat in Parliament, is expected to join the national government, led by the UNP. 

SLFP General Secretary Dayasiri Jayasekera said the party would take disciplinary action against MPs supporting the national government motion. 

Former President Mahinda Rajapaksa, the de facto leader of the SLPP, said he was against forming a national government. 

© 2017 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd