Foreign Minister Marapana To Lead Sri Lankan Delegation To Geneva For UNHRC Session: Amunugama, Raghavan, Aryasinha Also Members

The government today announced that Foreign Affairs Minister Thilak Marapana would lead the Sri Lankan delegation at the 40th session of the UNHRC. 

Opposition MP Sarath Amunugama, Northern Province Governor and President Maithripala Sirisena's ally Suren Raghavan, Foreign Ministry Secretary Ravinatha Aryasinha and Deputy Solicitor General Nerun Pulle have been named as members of the delegation. 

It was earlier learnt that Sri Lankan Permanent Representative to Geneva A.L.A. Azeez was supposed to lead the Sri Lankan delegation to the UNHRC. 

The arrangement changed at the last moment when the President announced that he would send his own members to Geneva to present his case. 

The draft resolution, which will be cosponsored by Sri Lanka, is currently being floated among the member-nations of the UNHRC. 

© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd