"No Evidence Linking Rishad Bathiudeen To Easter Sunday Attacks": Deputy Speaker Kumarasiri Quotes Letter Sent By Acting IGP

There is no evidence linking ACMC Leader Rishad Bathiudeen to the April 21 bombing series. Rival political factions have been continuously making various allegations against ACMC Leader Rishad Bathiudeen (MP) linking him to Sri Lanka Easter Sunday Attacks, Deputy Speaker Ananda Kumarasiri said, quoting a letter sent by the Acting IGP said.

During the Parliamentary Select Committee hearings today, quoting a letter sent by Acing IGP Senior DIG C. D. Wickramaratne, to Dhammika Dasanayake, Secretary General of Parliament, the Deputy Speaker and Chairperson of Committees of Parliament J. M. Ananda Kumarasiri announced: “No evidence has been found to link Minister Rishad Bathiudeen to the series of bomb blasts of 2019 April 21 nor any terrorist activity, in investigations conducted so far by the Investigations Committee comprising of CID, FCID, and Colombo Fraud Investigation Bureau (CFIB), established to investigate complaints against Minister Bathiudeen and Governors MLAM Hisbullah and Azath Salley. The Investigations Committee conducts its investigations under Acing IGP Senior DIG C. D. Wickramaratne. We will include this letter to our documents.”

Deputy Speaker Kumarasiri made this announcement after Bathiudeen MP concluded his testimony before the Parliamentary Select Committee on the afternoon of 28 June. “All accusations against me are false.I never met Zahran.I have never supported terrorism. In fact I and my family were VICTIMS of terrorism” said Bathiudeen MP during his testimony, and added: “The photos being circulated saying that I met terrorist bomber Zahran are in fact photos of me meeting a certain Moulevi Nisthar in October 2015, whose appearance is somewhat similar to Zahran. Moulevi Nisthar has now lodged a complaint with Nittambuwa Police against these false allegations.”

In early June Sri Lanka Police Headquarters set up a committee to obtain complaints against Parliamentarian Rishad Bathiudeen and former governors MLAM Hizbullah and Azath Salley. The committee consists of a Senior Superintendent of Police and two Superintendents of Police.

© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd