Term Of Uva Provincial Council Expires Tonight: All Nine Provincial Councils Will Now Be Defunct

Term of the Uva Provincial Council — the last remaining functional Provincial Council — expires tonight.

With this, all nine Provincial Councils in the country will become dysfunctional. UPFA Member Chamara Sampath Dassanayake functions as the Chief Minister of the council.

The Provincial Council election has been delayed due to issues in the delimitation process.

The defunct Provincial Councils are currently operating under the purview of Governors.

© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd