UNP Parliamentary Group Meeting Ends In Turmoil: MPs Take Unofficial Vote On Party Leadership: 52 Out of 77 Members Vote For Premadasa

The UNP Parliamentary group meeting has ended up in a turmoil today with MPs taking an unofficial vote on the party leadership.

The MPs took the vote after party leader Ranil Wickremesinghe adjourned the meeting abruptly and left the meeting room. UNP General Secretary Akila Viraj Kariyawasam also followed the party leader.

UNP MP Harsha de Silva said 52 out of 77 parliamentary group members voted in support of Sajith Premadasa for the party leadership.

Premadasa supporters have openly threatened to form a new party if Premasdasa is not appointed as the UNP leader.

© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd