Working Committee Decides: Ranil Wickremesinghe Will Continue In Party Leadership: Sajith To Lead New Alliance

The United National Party has decided that former Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe will continue in the party leadership.

Meanwhile, the committee also decided that Sajith Premadasa will lead the new alliance that will be formed to contest the parliamentary election.

This was the first Working Committee of the party for 2020. Wickremesinghe axed four Premadasa loyalists, namely Ajith P. Perera , Sarath Fonseka, Rosy Senanayake and Imthiaz Bakeer Markar.

A Working Committee member said 37 MPs were present at the meeting today while 20 were absent.

© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd