‘University Of Aberdeen - Sri Lanka Pathway' not recognized in SL-SLMC

The Sri Lanka Medical Council announced that the 'University of Aberdeen - Sri Lanka Pathway' is not recognized by the SLMC in order to fulfil the requirements for registration to practise Medicine and Surgery in Sri Lanka.

The University of Aberdeen, Scotland, launched the new Sri Lanka Medical Pathway which last year to allow Sri Lankan students spend three years studying in Scotland and the final clinical years working in hospitals in Sri Lanka.

The institution said the graduates would receive a University of Aberdeen MBChB degree, which is a primary medical qualification (PMQ), which currently entitles graduates to apply for provisional registration with the UK General Medical Council.

Founded in 1495, the University of Aberdeen is the fifth oldest university in the UK.

© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd