SL Bowl, Bring In Chaturanga, Pathirana

February 01, 2017

Sri Lanka won the toss and chose to bowl first in the second ODI at Kingsmead, despite having added two spin-bowling allrounders to their XI.

The visitors drafted in Sachith Pathirana and Chaturanga de Silva - both of whom bowl left-arm orthodox - in place of opening batsman Sandun Weerakkody and legspinner Jeffrey Vandersay. Chaturanga played the most recent of his six ODIs in November 2014, while Pathirana played the most recent of his 10 international one-dayers last September.

Weerakkody's exit may necessitate another top order shuffle, with Dhananjaya de Silva a possible opening option, after he had fulfilled that role during the tri-series in Zimbabwe last year. The newcomers are expected to bat in the lower middle order.

South Africa kept with their winning XI from the first ODI, choosing to stick with the one frontline spinner in Imran Tahir, along with quicks Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Chris Morris and Andile Phehlukwayo.

The weather is forecast to remain dry for the duration of the match.

South Africa: 1 Quinton de Kock (wk), 2 Hashim Amla, 3 Faf du Plessis, 4 AB de Villiers (capt.), 5 JP Duminy, 6 David Miller, 7 Chris Morris, 8 Wayne Parnell, 9 Andile Phehlukwayo, 10 Kagiso Rabada, 11 Imran Tahir

Sri Lanka: 1 Niroshan Dickwella, 2 Dhananjaya de Silva, 3 Kusal Mendis, 4 Dinesh Chandimal (wk), 5 Upul Tharanga (capt.), 6 Chaturanga de Silva, 7 Asela Gunaratne, 8 Sachith Pathirana, 9 Nuwan Kulasekara, 10 Suranga Lakmal, 11 Lakshan Sandakan


© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd