Meethotamulla Residents Will Receive Houses Tomorrow: 98 Will Receive Houses Initially

At a meeting chaired by the President and the Prime Minister it was decided that an initial 98 would receive houses beginning tomorrow.

Over 150 houses were destroyed in the incident that took place on Friday (14), when a section of the Meethotamulla garbage dump collapsed on residents.

Thirty-two were killed in the incident; several more are missing and unaccounted for.

President Sirisena had also instructed officials to strengthen the process of providing infrastructure facilities to the affected people.

He asked that priority is given to evacuate people who are in the danger zone around the Meethotamulla disaster area.

Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, Ministers Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, Susil Premajayantha, Sagala Rathnayaka, Vajira Abeywardena, A. H. M. Fowzie, Chief Minister of Western Province Isura Dewapriya, Commanders of Tri Forces and the Inspector General of Police joined the discussion.


© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd