National Freedom Front Withdraws From Constitutional Assembly

The National Freedom Front (NFF), led by MP Wimal Weerawansa, has informed the Speaker Karu Jayasuriya of their intention to withdraw from the 225-member Constitutional Assembly.

Wimal Weerawansa handed over a letter containing ten reasons for his decision to withdraw with four other members of the NFF to Speaker Karu Jayasuriya, today.

These included agreement with the recent statement by the bhikkus of the three Nikayas that a new Constitution was unnecessary for the country.

Additionally, the NFF pointed out, in withdrawing, the validity of the Constitutional Assembly, which is expected to consist of 225 members, would be challenged.

The five NFF parliamentarians who contested on the United Peoples’ Freedom Alliance (UPFA) ticket are listed below:

Leader, Wimal Weearawansa

Weerakumara Dissanayake

Jayantha Samaraweera

Udayashantha Gunasekara

Niroshan Premaratne


© 2017 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd