Maithripala Takes Strong Lead

Common Candidate Maithripala Sirisena is now ahead of President Mahinda Rajapaksa with a majority of  32,725  votes.

The Common Candidate took the lead with the results of Galle and Kilinochchi polling divisions.

Maithripala Sirisena has so far obtained 169 918 votes and President Mahinda Rajapaksa has secured 137 193 votes.

Sirisena's percentage now stands at 54.8 while the percentage of Rajapaksa stands at 44.3.

© 2017 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd