"Handa Paluwa Thani Tharuwa" Wins Swarna Pusthaka Award 2017

September 12, 2017

The novel Handa Paluwa Thani Tharuwa written by Nissanka Wijemanna was named as the best novel published in 2016, at the Swarna Pusthaka Award Ceremony 2017.

Nissanka Wijemanna, who is a teacher educator in arts by profession, has achieved several awards in national literature festivals. Thara Mage Devduwa, Muwa Maru Salaman, Valentine Kumaraya and Keedewo Awilla are also penned by Wijemanna.  "Handa Paluwa Thani Tharuwa" is published by Vidarshana Publishers. The novel, which discuses about Sinhala-Muslim relationship in the Eastern Province, received well by both readers and critics. Wijemanna described his award winning novel as a work of calligraphy.


Sia Siya Path Siya - Sumithra Rahubadda, Vanna Dasi - Kathanya Amarasinghe, Garuda Muhuthiya - Keerthi Welisarage, Pransha Pemvatha - Shamel Jayakodi were also nominated for the final round. The Swarna Pusthaka Award Ceremony 2017 was organized by the Sri Lanka Book Publishers' Association and was held at the Bandaranaike Memorial International Conference Hall (BMICH) on 9 September and Chief Justice Priyasath Dep graced the occasion as the Chief Guest.

(Pic credit:Facebook)

© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd