SJB National list crisis; 15 SJB MPs threaten to sit as separate group in Opposition

Former Minister and TPA Leader Mano Ganesan said 15 MPs who were elected from affiliated parties of the Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) would sit independently in Parliament, if the SJB failed to accomodate minor party nominees in the national list.

Ganesan said the message was conveyed to the SJB leader duringa discussion held at the party headquartes on Saturday.

Although the SJB has already finalized natioal list nominees, the minor parties affiliated with the alliance have pushed for the appointment of their members as national list MPs.

A number of ex-MPs, including Ranjith Madduma Bandara, Harin Fernando, Eran Wickremaratne and Mayantha Dissanayake have been included in the national list of the SJB.

© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd