Eight Opposition MPs Support 20th Amendment To Constitution

Eight opposition MPs have voted in support of the 20th Amendment at the second reading vote in Parliament.

SJB National List MP Diana Gamage, SLMC MPs Nazeer Ahamed, Faizal Caseem, H.M. M.Harees, M.S. Thowfeek, Muslim National Alliance MP A. A.S.M. Raheem, SJB/TPA MP Arvind Kumar and SJB MP Ishak Rahman have voted for the 20th Amendment.

The 20th Amendment to the Constitution was adopted in Parliament at the second reading vote with 156 MPs voting in favor. 65 MPs voted against.

Former President Maithripala Sirisena was not present in the House when the vote was taken.

© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd