Parliamentary Council yet To Receive Names Of New Members Of Elections Commission

November 14, 2020

The Parliamentary Council has not yet received the names of the members to be appointed to the National Election Commission.

Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena said that the Parliamentary Council will refer the names back to the President with the council's observations.

However, he said that so far the names of those who are considered suitable for the positions have not been submitted to the council.

The term of office of the National Election Commission ended on the 12th of November.

© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd