UPDATE: SLPP General Secretary Officially Nominates Basil To Vacant National List Seat: Letter Sent To Elections Comm.

The SLPP has officially nominated former Minister Basil Rajapaksa as a national list MP replacing Jayantha Ketagoda.

Ketagoda handed over his resignation this morning to the Secretary-General of Parliament.

SLPP General Secretary Sagara Kariyawasam has written a letter to the Elections Commission nominating Rajapaksa for the vacant national list slot.

Rajapaksa is expected to be sworn in as the Cabinet Minister of Economic Affiars.

© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd