New Cabinet Sworn In (Full List)

President Gotabaya Rajapaksa swore in 17 ministers into the new cabinet, as short while ago.

On 4 April, the President appointed 4 Cabinet Ministers after the entire Cabinet resigned following people's protests against the conduct of the Government amidst severe economic crisis in the country. 

Accordinlgy, Ali Sabry was sworn in as the new Finance Minister while Prof. G.L. Peiris was sworn in as the Foreign Minister, Dinesh Gunawardena as the Education Minister and Johnston Fernando as the Highways Minister. However, Kanaka Herath sworn in as the Highways Minister, replacing Fernando today (18).

The Prime Minister in his address to the nation last week said that although the Government extended an invitation to all political parties to join them to find solutions to the ongoing crisis, no one accepted the invitation.