41 MPs Who Became Independent Recently To Sit In opposition As Separate Group

The 41 MPs who became independent recently are to sit in the opposition as a separate group, informed political sources said.

A discussion was also held today between the representatives of the Independent Parliamentary Group and Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena regarding the allocation of seats for them in Parliament.

Senior Vice Presidents and former Ministers of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party Nimala Siripala de Silva, Mahinda Amaraweera, National Organizer, Former Minister of State Duminda Dissanayake, SLFP Treasurer Former Minister of State Lasantha Alagiyawanna, Leader of the Lanka Sama Samaja Party, Prof. Tissa Vitarana, Anura Priyadarshana Yapa , Susil Premajayantha, National Organizer of the National Freedom Front, Jayantha Samaraweera were also present.

They have indicated that they would not support the No Confidence Motion prsented by the SJB against the government.