SLFP, Minor Parties And SJB Refuse To Accept Positions In Govt. Headed By Ranil

The SJB, the SLFP, and several minor parties in the opposition have stated that they will not accept positions in a new government formed under the leadership of Ranil Wickremesinghe.

Speaking to the media, MP Wimal Weerawansa said they would not support the Government but would work to ensure political stability in the country.

Meanwhile, former President Maithripala Sirisena also told the media that the SLFP would not accept the position, but support measures to salvage the country from the economic crisis.

So far only the SLPP has extended support to the former President who has been appointed as the prime minister for the sixth time.