Parliament approves emergency regulations

The emergency regulations declared by the then Acting President Ranil Wickremesinghe were approved in Parliament today with 120 MPs voting for it and 63 against.

The state of emergency was declared in a proclamation by Acting President Ranil Wickremesinghe in terms of Article 40(1)(C) of the Constitution in the interests of public security, the protection of public order and the maintenance of supplies and services essential to the life of the community.