SLPP Push for Cabinet Positions Unsuccessful: Hard Luck for Johnston, Rohitha and Chandrasena

The Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) has been unable to secure cabinet positions for three of its senior members, Johnston Fernando, Rohitha Abeygunawardena, and S.M. Chandrasena. The three were reportedly disappointed to learn that they would not be included in the new cabinet, which was announced on Tuesday.

According to the Sunday Times, SLPP leaders who are pressing the case for the three have contended that colleagues who were junior to them or have polled a smaller number of votes have won portfolios. They have also argued that the three are experienced and qualified politicians who would make valuable contributions to the cabinet.

However, government sources have ruled out any expansion or reshuffle in the coming months. They have said that the current cabinet is capable of handling the country's affairs and that there is no need for any changes at this time.

The SLPP's push for cabinet positions for its senior members has highlighted the growing rift within the party. The party's two main factions, the pro-Rajapaksa faction and the pro-Wickremesinghe faction, have been at odds for some time. The latest development is likely to further deepen the divisions within the party.