Split In Weerawansa's National Freedom Front: Weerakumara - Piyasiri Wijenaike - PB Kumara Join SLFP

December 11, 2017

A major split has occurred in Wimal Weerawansa's National Freedom Party with three stalwarts of the party accepting membership of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party. 

The National Freedom Front's former National Organiser Piyasiri Wijenaike, Deputy Leader Weerakumara Dissanayake and North Central Provincial Councilor P.B Kumara have obtained membership of the SLFP. 

They have also held talks with President Maithripala Sirisena and pledged to extend support to the party's election campaign at the Local Government election. 

Former NFF stalwart and former Parliamentarian Jayantha Wijeseketa too has already joined the SLFP. 

Meanwhile, JO MP and Mahajana Eksath Pemruma member Sriyani Wijewickrema also met President Sirisena last evening and extend her support to the SLFP group supporting the President. 

© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd