Parliament Approves Names Of Jayantha Dhanapala, Javid Yusuf And Selvakumar As Members Of Constitutional Council

Parliament approved the names of Dr. Jayantha Dhanapala, Javid Yusuf and N. Selvakumar as civil society members of the Constitutional Council. 

They will be appointed for a period of three years and will serve as independent committee members free of any political affiliation or obligation. 

The Parliament endorsed the name when it met at 10 am today, with under the patronage of Speaker Karu Jayasuriya. 

Dhanapala, a well-known diplomat, is the former UN Under-S General for Disarmament Affairs while Yusuf served as Sri Lanka's Human Rights Commissioner and the Ambassador to Saudi Arabia. 

The CC comprises ten members with the Prime Minister, the Opposition Leader and the Speaker being ex-officio members while the other seven members are nominated for a stipulated period.


© 2017 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd