No Confidence Motion Against Bathiudeen Hits A Snag With MR And Basil Rajapaksa Opposing The Move

The proposed no-confidence motion against ACMC Leader Rishad Bathiudeen has hit a snag with several stalwarts of the SLPP opposing the move.

The no-confidence move was initiated by Athuraliye Rathana Thera, now a supporter of President Maithripala Sirisena. A group of Joint Opposition Parliamentarians initially supported the move and collected signatures in favour of the motion.

However, it was later revealed that former President Mahinda Rajapaksa and former Minister Basil Rajapaksa were not in favor of the move.

As a result, the future of the no-confidence motion against Bathiudeen still hangs in the balance.

A no-confidence motion against Bathiudeen wa mooted due to his alleged links with extremist militants in the Eastern province.

Bathiudeen was a member of the Rajapaksa government before he decided to support Maithripala Sirisena's government in January 2015.

© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd