No-Confidence Motion Against Rishad Bathiudeen Handed Over To Speaker Karu Jayasuriya With 66 Signatures

The No-Confidence motion against ACMC Leader Minister Rishad Bathiudeen has been handed over to Speaker Karu Jayasuriya, JO Parliamentarian Udaya Gammanpila said.

He said 66 Parliamentarians had signed the no-confidence motion against Bathiudeen.

The no-confidence motion came in the wake of allegations that Bathiudeen maintained close links with extremist groups in the Eastern province.

There were initial reports indicating some stalwarts of the Sri Lanka Podunana Party were not in favour of bringing a no-conference motion against Bathiudeen. However, issuing a statement yesterday, the SLPP said no stalwart of the party had raised objections against the no-confidence motion against the Minister.

© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd