Mubarak In Sri Lanka A Squad

Jehan Mubarak has been named in the Sri Lanka A squad for the first four-day match against West Indies A, starting October 11 in Hambantota. The squad of 15 will be led by Upul Tharanga.

Mubarak, who last played a Test in 2007 and ODI in 2013, featured in eight T20s for Southern Express recently, five in Sri Lanka and three in the Champions League T20 qualifiers in India. He last played a first-class match in April this year.

Sri Lanka's next assignment is against England in November. With that in mind, Lahiru Thirimanne, Niroshan Dickwella, and Shaminda Eranga, who played the Tests against Pakistan in August, and Ashan Priyanjan, Seekkuge Prasanna and Dinesh Chandimal, who played the ODIs, all feature in the A squad.

Two players who were in the Test squad but did not get a game - Dimuth Karunaratne and Lahiru Gamage - were also named for the first-class match.

Among the uncapped players in the squad were Madawa Warnapura, Tharindu Kaushal, Vishwa Fernando, Kasun Madushanka and Rumesh Buddika. Fernando played for the Sri Lanka A squad which toured England and Ireland in August.

Sri Lanka A will host West Indies A for three four-day matches and three unofficial ODIs.

Sri Lanka A Squad: Upul Tharanga (capt), Dimuth Karunaratne, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal, Ashan Priyanjan, Jehan Mubarak, Niroshan Dickwella, Seekkuge Prasanna, Shaminda Eranga, Vishwa Fernando, Lahiru Gamage, Madawa Warnapura, Rumesh Buddika, Tharindu Kaushal, Kasun Madushanka.

© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd