UPDATE: Committee On 20A Hands Over Report To Prime Minister

September 15, 2020

The committee looking into the proposed 20th Amendment to the Constitution presented their report to Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa, a short while ago.

They are also expected to present the same report to the President.

The committee, chaired by Prof. G.L. Peiris, was appointed by Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa after many parties raised concerns over the proposed amendment.

Udaya Gmmanpila, Ali Sabry, Wimal Weerawans, Nimal Siripala de Silva, Susil Premajayantha, Dilan Perera, S. Wiyalendran and Premnath C. Dolawatte are other members of the committee.

The committee held extensive discussions at Minister G.L. Peiris' residence yesterday.

© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd