SJB Parliamentary Group Unanimously Adopts Resolution In Support Of Sajith Premadasa Amidst Rumours Of Grand Defections

The Samagi Jana Balawegaya parliamentary group today passed a resolution in support of the party and its leader Sajith Premadasa amidst rumours of a grand defections from the party.

The resolution was passed while Premadasa was in hospital recovering from COVID19.

It was reported in some sections of the media that a number of MPs, dissilusioned with Premadasa's leadership style, are planning to defect from the party. This claim, however, has been flatly rejected by senior party officials.

Today's resolution was brought forward by several leaders of the opposition alliance including Lakshman Kiriella, Patali Champika Ranawaka, Rauff Hakeem and Mano Ganesan.

It was seconded by Ranjith Madduma Bandara, Sarath Fonseka, Rajitha Senaratne and Ashok Abeysinghe. Subsequently, the parliamentary group unanimously adopted the resolution.

© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd