Only 88 Ruling Party MPs Back "Unanimous" Motion Expressing Confidence With PM Mahinda Rajapaksa

Only 88 MPs have backed a motion that was passed at the ruling party parliamentary group meeting extending support to Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa, informed political sources said.

The motion was presented to the ruling party group meeting by MP Sahan Pradeep and it was passed unanimously by the group.

However, only 88 MPs had attended the group meeting today although the government 'officially' commands the support of 116 MPs in the House.

Over 40 MPs who represented the ruling party until last month have now become independent. The opposition is currently in the process of presenting a no-confidence motion against the government.