Johnston Signs Nomination Papers: Mahindananda - Rohitha - Lakshman Also Get Nominations

Despite President Maithripala Sirisena ' s assurances that corrupt MPs of the previous government would not receive nominations, former Minister Johnston Fernando today signed nominations to contest from the Kurunegala district.

Earlier there were rumours that President Sirisena had opposed giving nominations to Fernando and a few other former MPs.  However, Fernando has finally managed to get nominations from the UPFA to contest for the Kurunegala district along with former President Mahinda Rajapaksa.

After the new government came to power in January, Fernando was arrested by the Police FCID over alleged financial misappropriations at Sathosa. He was charged under Offences Against Public Property Act was later released on bail after several weeks in remand.

Meanwhile,  UPFA sources also added that Mahindananda Aluthgamage,  Rohitha Abeygunawardena and Lakshman Wasantha Perera had already received nominations to contest under the UPFA, led by President Maithripala Sirisena

© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd