Daredevils Bowl, Mumbai Replace Praveen After Toss

Mumbai Indians made a late change to their eleven, bringing in Pragyan Ojha for Praveen Kumar, who was injured between the toss and the start of play. Ojha wasn't among the reserve players Mumbai had named at the toss, and the match officials allowed them to bring him in after a lengthy discussion that also involved Kevin Pietersen and Gary Kirsten, Delhi Daredevils' captain and coach.

Shortly before that, Daredevils had won the toss and chosen to bowl first on a sweltering afternoon at the Wankhede Stadium. Pietersen said the pitch wouldn't change too much over the course of the 40 overs, since it was an afternoon game. Rohit Sharma, the Mumbai Indians captain, said he would also have fielded.

Mumbai gave South African fast bowler Marchant de Lange his first game of the season, in place of Krishmar Santokie. Harbhajan Singh also returned to their eleven. He had originally replaced Ojha. Delhi made two changes as well, and strengthened their bowling, replacing batsman Mayank Agarwal with left-arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem and bringing in Siddarth Kaul for Mohammed Shami in a like-for-like swap.

Daredevils are out of reckoning for the playoffs. Mumbai are currently sixth on the table with 10 points and two games to play. They will have to win both their remaining games, and hope other results go their way, to have a chance of taking the final playoff spot.

Mumbai Indians 1 Lendl Simmons, 2 Michael Hussey, 3 Ambati Rayudu, 4 Rohit Sharma (capt), 5 Kieron Pollard, 6 Aditya Tare (wk), 7 Shreyas Gopal, 8 Jasprit Bumrah, 9 Harbhajan Singh, 10 Pragyan Ojha, 11 Marchant de Lange

Delhi Daredevils 1 Murali Vijay, 2 Kevin Pietersen (capt), 3 Dinesh Karthik (wk), 4 JP Duminy, 5 Kedar Jadhav, 6 Manoj Tiwary, 7 Wayne Parnell, 8 Shahbaz Nadeem, 9 Siddarth Kaul, 10 Imran Tahir, 11 Jaydev Unadkat


© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd