Kasun Rajitha Picked For T20s Against Australia

September 05, 2016

Kasun Rajitha had taken 3 for 29 on his international debut in February © BCCI

Seamer Kasun Rajitha has been named in Sri Lanka's squad for the two T20s against Australia, while allrounders Thisara Perera and Milinda Siriwardana, batsman Chamara Kapugedara, and spinner Sachithra Senanayake, have also all been recalled. Among the significant omissions were batsmen Danushka Gunathilaka and Niroshan Dickwella, and allrounder Ramith Rambukwella.

Spin-bowling allrounder Sachith Pathirana found a place in the squad, thanks in part to his encouraging run in the last two ODIs against Australia. Left-arm spinner Amila Aponso, who had shone in the first three matches of that series, was overlooked in this format.

Dinesh Chandimal will lead the team, taking the reins from Angelo Mathews who is unavailable due to a calf tear. The series is also Tillakaratne Dilshan's final outing in international cricket.

Rajitha had debuted in the bilateral T20 series against India in February. He had taken 3 for 29 on a Pune greentop in his first match, but conceded 45 and went wicketless in the next game. He and Suranga Lakmal were the only specialist seamers in the squad, with Nuwan Kulasekara overlooked once more.

Senanayake was the only specialist spinner, but in Pathirana, Siriwardana, Seekkuge Prasanna, Dilshan and Dhananjaya de Silva, Chandimal has plenty of slow-bowling options to call upon.

The first T20 is set to be played in Pallekele on Tuesday, and the second at Khettarama on Friday.

T20 squad: Dinesh Chandimal (capt.), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kusal Perera, Dananjaya de Silva, Chamara Kapugedara, Milinda Siriwardana, Kusal Mendis, Seekkuge Prasanna, Sachithra Senanayake, Suranga Lakmal, Thisara Perera, Sachith Pathirana, Kasun Rajitha, Dasun Shanaka.


© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd