Sri Lanka Bring Back Kusal Perera, Thisara Perera For Bangladesh ODIs

Sri Lanka have named Kusal Perera and Thisara Perera in a 15-man squad for the three-match ODI series against Bangladesh, starting from March 25 in Dambulla. The Pereras benefitted from a strong return to the drawing board, as they were drafted in on the back of notable performances for the Sri Lanka A side against England Lions earlier this month. The two last featured in the 50-over format late last year.

Sri Lanka have opted for another left-handed opener in Danushka Gunathilaka, who also had a good run in the A games. While Kusal hit two fifties against England Lions, Gunathilaka made a better impression with scores of 121*, 44 and 51. In the absence of an injured Angelo Mathews, who hurt his hamstring during the T20I series against South Africa, Upul Tharanga will continue to lead the team.

Sri Lanka's bowling department appears to be a little light on paper. The three fast bowlers - Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara and Vikum Sanjaya (uncapped) - have a combined experience of 61 ODIs. Lasith Malinga provided a shot in the arm for the Sri Lankan side by making a comeback to the T20I side in Australia, but it remains to be seen if he can put his body through a spell worth 10 overs. He last played an ODI in November 2015. SLC also opted to leave out the experienced Nuwan Kulasekara, who managed just one wicket in the three ODIs in South Africa. The 24-year-old Lahiru Madushanka was also omitted after being handed his debut in South Africa.

SLC has also seen it fit to go with just a lone spinner in Lakshan Sandakan, omitting leg-break bowler Jeffrey Vandersay, who was unimpressive in the two ODIs he played in South Africa.

Sri Lanka Squad: Upul Tharanga (capt), Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Mendis, Asela Gunaratne, Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Kusal Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Vikum Sanjaya, Thisara Perera, Sachith Pathirana, Seekkuge Prassanna, Lakshan Sandakan


© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd