IPL 2017: Mumbai Indians Seal Dramatic Win In The Finals

The Mumbai Indians won their third Indian Premier League (IPL) title after they defeated Rising Pune Supergiant by a solitary run at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad on Sunday night.
MI bowlers applied the squeeze on their opponents, despite an underwhelming performance with the bat, and a sloppy performance in the field. They eventually leading their team to a 1-run win. After scoring a below-par 129-8, MI restricted RPS to 128-6.
Left-arm paceman Jaydev Unadkat and 17-year-old off-spinner Washington Sundar, the youngest to feature in an IPL final, combined to reduce Mumbai Indians to 11/2 in four overs.
Rising Pune Supergiant could manage only 128 for six in 20 overs with Mitchell Johnson taking two wickets in the final over, in which Supergiant needed 11 runs.

Brief Scores

Mumbai Indians: 129-8 (Krunal Pandya 47, Rohit Sharma 24, Jaydev Unadkat 2-19, Adam Zampa 2-32, Daniel Christian 2-34) beat Rising Pune Supergiant: 128-6 (Steve Smith 51, Ajinkya Rahane 44, Mitchell Johnson 3-26, Jasprit Bumrah 2-26) by 1 run.

Man of the Match: Krunal Pandya

Season Award Winners

Fair Play Award: Gujarat Lions

Emerging Player: Basil Thampi (GL)

Orange Cap: David Warner (SRH)

Purple Cap: Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH)

Most Valuable Player: Ben Stokes (RPS)

© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd