Jayasuriya Retained As Sri Lanka's Chairman Of Selectors

Former Sri Lanka captain Sanath Jayasuriya has been retained as Chairman of Selectors along with his team for the next six months, Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) announced on Tuesday (July 4). The committee's term expired on June 30 and it has now been extended till the end of the year (December 31).

Earlier, Sports Minister Dayasiri Jayasekara had indicated a new set of selectors will be brought in, but following a consultation with SLC, the decision to retain the selectors was taken. "SLC wanted continuity and requested me to retain the same set of selectors," Jayasekara told Cricbuzz.

Accordingly, Jayasuriya's batting partner Romesh Kaluwitharana, fellow World Cup winner Asanka Gurusinha, Ranjith Madurusingha and Eric Upashantha were retained.

The current year has been a tough one for Sri Lanka, starting from a first-ever defeat in Test cricket at the hands of Bangladesh to losing their first-ever home ODI to Zimbabwe. Sri Lanka were also knocked out of the Champions Trophy in the first round itself.

Jayasekara had hit out at the Sri Lankan players, calling them unfit after three dropped catches cost them dearly during the crucial Champions Trophy clash against Pakistan in Cardiff.

In return, fast bowler Lasith Malinga hit out at the Minister calling him a 'monkey' for which he received a 50 percent fine and was imposed a sentence of one year suspension, suspended by six months (whereby the punishment would be imposed in the event of a similar infraction within the stipulated six month period).


© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd