Jayantha Dharmadasa Routed At Bloomfield Election

Sri Lanka Cricket president Jayantha Dharmadasa lost out to Jayantha Seneviratne at yesterday’s election of office bearers of the Bloomfield Cricket and Athletic Club.

Both men contested for the post of presidency with Dharmadasa receiving a miserable 20 votes compared to a whopping 74 polled by Seneviratne a former pre-Test era batsman.

Dharmadasa’s losing team also had former Sri Lanka captain and current Selection Committee head Sanath Jayasuriya who contested for the post of vice president but withdrew in a demoralized state along with Lalith Kaluperuma.

First Sri Lanka captain Bandula Warnapura polled just seven votes also contesting for the post of vice president.

Incumbent president Hirantha Perera was debarred from contesting the election on a court order which upheld a petition from a club member that its Constitution did not permit an office bearer from being elected a third time in succession.

But Perera was made Patron who will be authorized to sit at all executive committee meetings of the club as well as spearhead its development projects.

Gamini Happawana, Ashraff Ghani and J Gallasage were elected vice presidents with 75 votes each while Rohan de Alwis polled the same number of votes to bag the Secretary’s post.

Another former Sri Lanka player Brendon Kuruppu also withdrew from contesting the cricket secretary’s post which went to Batheesha de Silva.
(Courtesy: The Nation)

© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd