Dharmasena Named Umpire For World Cup Final

Kumar Dharmasena and England's Richard Kettleborough were today(27) appointed on-field umpires for the ICC Cricket World Cup final between Australia and New Zealand on Sunday(29) in Melbourne.

"Kumar Dharmasena and Richard Kettleborough will be the two on-field umpires," the ICC said in a statement.

Ranjan Madugalle was named the match referee for the high-octane clash between the trans-Tasmanian rivals. While Australia beat India by 95 runs in their semifinal clash, New Zealand got the better of South Africa in their last-four stage match.

The match official appointments are as follows:

Ranjan Madugalle (match referee)
Kumar Dharmasena and Richard Kettleborough (both on-field umpires),
Marais Erasmus (third umpire)
Ian Gould (fourth umpire)

Award-winning umpire Alim Dar has not been included for the final. He was not a part of the officials in the semi-finals too. It is thought that his controversial no-ball in India-Bangladesh quarter-final has led to his ouster. There was outrage in Bangladesh following his controversial no-ball call when Rohit Sharma was out to a full toss ball.

© 2019 Asian Mirror (pvt) Ltd