Motion to Suspend Diana Gamage & Two SJB MPs Adopted in Parliament: 57 MPs Vote in Favour

December 02, 2023

A motion to suspend State Minister Diana Gamage and Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) MPs Sujith Sanjaya Perera and Rohana Bandara from Parliament for a one-month period was successfully passed during the parliamentary session on December 2.

The motion, brought forward by the Parliamentary Committee on Ethics and Privileges, gained approval through a parliamentary vote. A total of 57 MPs voted in favor of the motion, while only one MP opposed it. Notably, three MPs chose to abstain from voting.

The recommendation for the suspension stems from the events in late October when unruly incidents unfolded in the parliamentary chambers. State Minister Diana Gamage and the two SJB MPs faced allegations related to an altercation that took place during a parliamentary session.

During the October 20 session, Diana Gamage accused SJB MP Sujith Sanjaya Perera of assaulting her outside the Chamber, leading to a temporary adjournment of the session. In response, MP Perera defended his actions, stating that he intervened in a heated argument between Gamage and MP Rohana Bandara, and he only acted in self-defense.

MP Rohana Bandara, in turn, accused the State Minister of verbally abusing him near the elevator. The incidents, both inside and outside the parliamentary chambers, led to heightened tensions and a subsequent investigation by a committee appointed by Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena.

The committee, headed by Deputy Speaker Ajith Rajapakse and comprising several other MPs, examined the details of the incidents. Following their deliberations, the committee recommended the one-month suspension for the three parliamentarians.